chickens, middle-schoolers

chickens2014 eggyolk2014Yay. Two chickens still alive.

We don’t have enough eggs now since the chicken theft.  Having to supplement with eggs from the store.  Gasp.

In that there bowl are two of mine, two of a stranger’s.  Mine are orange, with distinct edges.  The ones from the store are yellow with a strange cloud issuing forth.

Ew.

Get your own backyard chickens, people.  It’s no big deal.  (As long as you don’t live near mountain lions.)  Just feed them, tell them they’re beautiful, collect their eggs, be healthy, repeat.

OK, so I’m really enjoying having middle-schoolers.

My house is full of middle-schoolers every day, and they make me laugh.  My son is 14, my daughter is 12, and all the stuff that’s going on with them is so typical.  Acne, braces, voice changes.  I find it amusing.  They don’t, but I do.  Every day I’m like ooo, what will he sound like today My daughter has to put those wee rubber bands on her braces like thrice a day, and food bits sometimes get stuck in her mouth and she gets really frustrated.  They grow out of jeans in like a month so they get embarrassed about their shins showing.  All their friends are tall and skinny and hungry and they look like gangly clumsy wiggly giants.  They have a hard time getting their words out.  The thoughts form, then there are a lot of uh’s and um’s and and’s before the actual sentence emerges.  Their brains are growing faster than their tongues can keep up with.  Their understanding of humor is changing.  Things are funny now that weren’t a year ago.  Things are not funny now that were a year ago.  When one of a group of them manages to sum up a thought in concise terms, they all pounce on it–repeating it, repeating it, laughing, laughing–because someone has spoken what they’re feeling or thinking, and what a relief, knowing they’re not alone.  My niece is in 8th grade.  Her teacher made them all sit down and shut up and write an encouraging note to the person sitting in front of them.  One of the students wrote a note to the person in front of her that said, “You have a nice butt.”  I laughed and laughed.  I would be so encouraged if someone wrote me that note.

I like middle-schoolers.

That’s all I got for now.

About i said tennessee

Me, just me, in Tennessee

One response to “chickens, middle-schoolers

  1. Bluetick

    You do have a nice butt!

Leave a Reply

