getting ready, and mountain lions

If we receive no more snow, I’m cool with that.  When it snows kids and dogs run in and out, in and out of this house, which makes Tennessee clay mud on my pickled white floors.  I spread out beach towels for the kids to put their wet stuff and muddy boots on.  I try to wipe the dogs’ paws.

To no avail.

It’s just a big muddy mess for days until the snow is finally gone, and then I swoop in and clean like a madwoman.

We’re waiting on Spring.  We’ve had a few wonderfully balmy days.  Ordered some seed from a new (to me) company called Sow True Seed out of Asheville.  I’m waiting on a grow light kit to come in the mail.  Cleared out a corner, got out the card table, seeds upon it….

P1070006In the very meantime I’m trying to wrestle this quilt through my machine, and finish a scarf for my sister, whose birthday is in a few weeks.

P1070010That movie there is a must see, according to my dad.

P1070011I love the smoke coming out of his gun.  Looks like a trick lighter.

Also helping my daughter make a demo quilt from a pattern in this book for quilt camp this summer.

P1070005So, more rambling, but a few weeks ago some animal cut through the wire on our chicken coop and helped itself to a chicken.  I’m a little depressed about it.  We always see evidence of animals trying to dig under the coop (they’re unsuccessful–the wire is buried, with concrete pavers around the perimeter for good measure), but in seven years nothing has actually sliced through the wire.  We know there are coyotes, bear, racoons, and skunks on our property.  Probably foxes too, although I’ve not seen them near our house, just a few miles down the road a bit.

My dad, who lives next door, said that’s interesting because he saw a mountain lion last week behind their house.  I thought he probably meant bobcat.  Because mountain lions are an animal that lives far, far, far away from here, like in California.  I Googled it.  Turns out mountain lions do live around here, and most of the sightings have been in Sevier county.  Where we live.

Mountain lions.

Lions.  That live on mountains.  They’re like 4 ft. long and well over a hundred pounds, and their teeth can cut through a tortoise shell, and they like fowl.  And attack people.

We’ve had so much trouble with predators, it’s not even funny.  Mainly coyotes, raccoons, and snakes.  The lone bear that walks his lonely, long circuit seems to stay back, happy to just eat blackberries and stink.  My friend has otters come into her yard and chase her chickens, but she’s a lot closer to a big river than we are, so otters haven’t been a problem for us.  But mountain lions? Seriously? Wow.  New level of concern.

Speaking of cats and prey, have you seen this?

OnceUponATimeIAteYourHampster{via here}

Ohhhhhhhh that makes me laugh.

Bye.

 

About i said tennessee

Me, just me, in Tennessee

Leave a Reply

